Everything’s Over!

Once more, my post is about a scene from the skit show Portlandia. I am having trouble with the embed code, so I am also going to link the video, just in case.

First off, since no one would actually claim to be a hipster, it’s hard to pick them out of a crowd. However, we’ll call the character, Spike, a hipster just for the sake of this blog. The general idea of a hipster is that he only does stuff that is underground and not mainstream. They like to be non-conformists. We see this is the skit. Each day, this “mainstream” guy comes into Spike’s hangout or begins doing his hobby.

When hipsters as we know them started to emerge, in the 1990s, not caring and not being cool was cool. They have a very diverse fashion, usually being very outdated or what most people would consider odd. They love to listen to music that no one else has heard of, watch movies no one else has seen, and hang out at places no one else knows about. They also do things for the “irony” of it. At times, it seems they put as much effort into not caring and not conforming, that they actually do care and have conformed since there is an entire subculture devoted to these beliefs. Once something becomes too mainstream, they move on, as we saw in the video. I also think the video’s  Twilight Zone-like ending shows how our culture works in general: Something is underground, becomes mainstream, peaks in popularity, becomes tacky, some people linger and look silly, people begin doing it again as a joke or “irony”, it is now popular again.

3 Comments

Filed under Free-Form Articles

3 responses to “Everything’s Over!

  1. I love this video for two reasons, it was funny while being accurate and I’m a fan of Fred Armisen. I definitely agree with you Zach because this happens all the time. I remember some kids from Vestavia that I knew that wore Toms when no one around them really knew about them. A month later everyone at the school started wearing them. Then at that point the original group of kids who wore them quit wearing them because they no longer saw them as cool or unique. It’s kind’ve ironic that certain people would react that way, because if one looks at it from another perspective its almost a form of flattery to be mimicked by whatever style they might wear. But I could definitely understand how people want to be unique and not copied.

  2. My best friend, although not a hipster, hates to follow the crowd. For example she would not go see any of the Harry Potter movies becuase everyone was so excited about it. This made me laugh because by her not conforming she was infact conforming to the group that doesnt conform. I think people like this are very interesting. I also feel they “care” to an extent like you said. If they didnt care, they wouldnt mind to be like everyone else-they would just do what they wanted to do. I agree with Alexandra. When the kids I babysit complain about their friends wanting the same item of clothing that they have, I explain to them that means their friends like their style. It is funny to me that so many people stride to be different while trying to act like they dont care.

  3. Rebecca George

    I agree with Tori! I know a lot of people that aren’t hipsters but they try to act different. It is very easy to tell that they try to be somebody that they aren’t. People juust need to be themselves and not care what others think of them.

Leave a Reply

