Lights, Camera, Super Bowl?

What ever happened to the classis half time show of the super bowl? Believe it or not, there was a time where the super bowl’s half time show did not include a million dollar performance with a variety of musical legends.

When the super bowl first started, people would still look forward to the half time show. It would not be because they were wanting to get a twenty minute concert, but instead, they wanted to be entertained by a different kind of band– a marching band.

I do see where people can find enjoyment in the modern day super bowl halftime show; however, as a former member of my high school’s marching band, I know that it is possible to entertain people without throwing away half a million dollars for a twenty minute performance (especially when we are supposedly in an economic crisis!). The Pelham High School “Tower of Power” marching band’s slogan, along with many other bands, was “halftime is game time.” With that attitude, we were able to keep the people in the stands on their feet after every song we performed. I also feel that it is not that impressive to sing the same five to ten words over and over again in front of a crowd. The same cannot be said about performing a complex halftime show designed specifically for the current needs and wants of the super bowl fans. It is almost like people are looking past the hard work and devotion that goes into a marching band’s performances, but they are amazed by a projector that displays different pictures and visual effects on the field while Madonna prances back and forth across a stage singing her few hits.

Even though I think that there have been some notable artists who have performed at some of the more recent super bowls, I just do not feel that the newer super bowl halftime shows are even worth the hype that they are producing among Americans. Instead, I feel the classic marching band would surprise many with a halftime show that most could not even fathom.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Lights, Camera, Super Bowl?

  1. As a former marching band participate, I completely agree with you. So much work and dedication is put into making the shows perfect and entertaining for people of all ages. In a way, its like producing a giant moving artwork. Its visually stimulating and fun for those watching and the ones performing. Maybe one day they’ll bring back; its surely unappreciated.

  2. Zach Miller

    I agree that a marching band would be a great performance for the Super Bowl half time show. Though I was not in marching band, most of my friends were. I saw how much work and pride they put into it. It looked they had more time and dedication that the auto-tune singers of today. As you said, marching band is very entertaining. I also find it more creative because you had to make the marches to go with it. Also, everyone in band plays an instrument unlike most pop singers today who have no instruments, just synthesizers. I even dare say that marching bands seem to sometimes put more effort into their acts than pop performers do. Go band geeks!

  3. jarredmckinney

    I agree the art of the Marching Band is kind of lost. I myself was never in marching band, but i learned to play the trumpet in middle school and continued playing up until my sophomore year of high school. I am not taking away anything from the marching band, because honestly I have a lot of respect for how much hard work and dedication that would go into a halftime show. Where I disagree is that the Superbowl is a HUGE sporting event and it looks to draw millions of people in for the game, and for the halftime show. Recently I would say that the picking of the band/singer for the halftime show has sucked. It has become too much about the show and not enough about the music. Possibly the greatest Superbowl halftime show ever would be U2, or at least in my books. A great band that plays music, and can put on a show. Where is more of that? However I digress, the point of a halftime show is to draw in viewers, and I simply do not see a marching band drawing in viewers like a big name music performer.

  4. juleshendrix513

    I agree and disagree. I was on the Drum Line and Dance Line from eighth grade until i graduated. I loved it and still look forward to their performances when I go to football games. I’ll also go as far to agree that these past few Superbowl performances have sucked. The last good show, in my opinion, would have to be when Paul McCartney played. But that’s probably because I’m a Beatles fan and an Eagles fan. That being said, yes, we are in an economic recession, but the bands that play for the most part need those gigs. What most people don’t realize that there are more bands that play prior to the show and at venues surrounding it. My dad is a musician, and I can tell you first hand the Superbowl and events like this help a lot. But even after saying all that, while a marching band and even a drum core would be pretty sweet to see at the Superbowl, it’s not going to pull in as much revenue.

Leave a Reply

